Power of President under the Constitution of India

Spread the Love

The President of India, officially the President of the Republic of India ), is the ceremonial head of state of India and the Commander in chief of the Indian Armed Forces.

The president is indirectly elected by an electoral college comprising the Parliament of India (both houses) and the legislative assemblies of each of India’s states and territories, who themselves are all directly elected.

Although the Article 53 of the Constitution of India states that the president can exercise his powers directly or by subordinate authority, with few exceptions, all of the executive powers vested in the president are, in practice, exercised by the prime minister (a subordinate authority) with the help of the Council of Ministers. The president is bound by the constitution to act on the advice of the prime minister and cabinet as long as the advice is not violating the constitution.

Powers of the President

  • Legislative Power
  • Executive Power
  • Judicial Power
  • Appointment Power
  • Military Power
  • Diplomatic Power
  • Pardoning Power
  • Emergency Power

For more watch our video-



Spread the Love

Leave a Reply